Using the technology tools you already have to enhance learning

Technology in your YL Classroom

Teachers are not newcomers to using technology in teaching. We’ve become quite adept at incorporating familiar technology — like CD or DVD players — into lessons in a way that enhances our teaching. New technology tools can feel intimidating because they are unfamiliar, but their role in teaching is the same. Technology tools are simply resources that teachers can use to improve on what they’re already doing in class.

In this webinar, I’m going to focus on identifying the technology tools that teachers already have available, and demonstrating simple ways to use them in order to help young students learn more effectively. Some of the challenges I’ll be addressing include:

  • How to make sure that your lesson focus remains on language learning even when you introduce new technology.
  • How to create digital picture books in large classes with only one or two computers to share.
  • How to create digital projects when you don’t have access to the Internet in class.
  • How to use your smart phone to get parents more involved in their children’s learning.

And more. So, whether you have all the tech toys one would want and want to learn how to use them in ways that won’t derail your language focus or believe that you can’t use technology in teaching because you don’t have computers or Internet access at school, I hope you’ll join me in this webinar.

As teachers, we want to use every resource available to us in order to help our students become skilled language users, including technology!

Bringing Technology into Your Young Learner Classroom
A free Let’s Share webinar, hosted by Oxford University Press)
Friday, January 25th at 12:00 GMT. (16:00 GST, 21:00 JST, 10:00 BRST, 07:00 EST)
Register here.

Even if you can’t attend the live webinar, please register so that you can have access to the recording. Registering for the webinar is the only way to get access to the recording. 

Hope to see you at the webinar!

2 thoughts on “Using the technology tools you already have to enhance learning

  1. Hi Pahriadi! I just found your comment — sorry! Yes, there is a recording. It’s here: https://sas.elluminate.com/site/external/recording/playback/link/meeting.jnlp?suid=M.0771DA6CD7339C92284AED9BC8E80F&sid=2011204

    There are also other recordings, and blogs, and video teaching tips all listed on the Let’s Share page for Let’s Go. I hope you find a few things that are interesting and useful to you! https://elt.oup.com/feature/global/lets_share/?cc=jp&selLanguage=ja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *